Camp Thundercraft

This weekend was a totally enlightening experience. A few weeks ago, a coworker of mine who is also crafty, sent me the link to a camp for crafters. My mind was blown. I’d never heard of anything remotely like this.

Camp Thundercraft was the first annual craft retreat put on by the wonderful Urban Craft Uprising. Makers from all over the NW joined together at Camp Burton on Vashon Island for a weekend of panels, roundtables, and overall good fun.

Being surrounded by crafting businesses from all walks of life was eye opening. I feel like Braddington is still in its infancy and networking with people from so many backgrounds and levels of experience was the perfect opportunity of growth for me and my small business.

I learned tips and tricks for photography, social networking and working craft shows. They held a tax class which was just what I needed! I’m terrible at numbers and since I’m just starting out, this information felt incredibly useful. I didn’t realize all the things that could be used as tax write-offs for small businesses!

Through my experience at Camp Thundercraft, I learned many great business take-aways, made connections with lots of amazing people and created memories that will last a lifetime.

If they do a repeat in 2018, I would highly recommend going if you are a crafter or own your own small business. This camp was amazing!

Thundercraft1

Camp Thundercraft 2017 – Photo credit Kristen Schmancy Rask 

Leave a Reply

